Have You Been Charged With a Felony DUI in Tempe and Need a Lawyer?

An Aggravated DUI or an Aggravated DWI are felony crimes.

An Aggravated DUI is charged as a class 4 felony when the defendant drives DUI and is either:

  1. Driving with a restricted, suspended revoked or canceled operator’s license;
  2. Being convicted of a DUI for the third time within 72 months from the first conviction, even if the license is currently valid; or
  3. Driving under the influence if one is required to have ignition lock on the vehicle.

Prison for 4 months is the mandatory minimum for a first time felony Aggravated DUI . The maximum penalty is 3.75 years in prison. After prison, there is the mandatory requirement of alcohol and/or drug screening and counseling, along with supervised probation with monthly visits and periodic urinalysis testing at the discretion of the probation officer. There is monthly probation fees and legally mandated fine of approximately $4700. Arizona Motor Vehicle Department will revoke the operator’s privilege to drive for a period of one year and require an ignition interlock device on a vehicle for 2 years after that at the driver’s expense.

Should a defendant get a second felony Aggravated DUI, the mandatory minimum penalty is 2.25 years in prison. The maximum penalty is 7.5 years in prison. The other mandatory penalties are the same as listed above, including those from the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department.

Should a defendant get a third felony Aggravated DUI, the mandatory minimum penalty is 6 years in prison. The maximum penalty is 15 years in prison. The other mandatory penalties are the same as listed above, including those from the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department.

There is another felony Aggravated DUI. Should the defendant drive DUI and drive with a child under the age of 15 years old in the vehicle, then the crime is a class 6 felony, whether or not the driver has any prior DUI offenses. This crime carried a minimum of 10 days in jail, although 9 of those days could be suspended with the completion of the mandatory alcohol and/or drug screening and counseling. The maximum penalty is 2 years in prison. There is monthly probation fees and legally mandated fine of approximately $4700. Arizona Motor Vehicle Department will revoke the operator’s privilege to drive for a period of one year and require an ignition interlock device on a vehicle for a 1 – 2 years after that at the driver’s expense, depending on the blood alcohol level.

DUI felonies are very serious. A conviction will result in prison. This is why it is important for the you to hire an experienced DUI Lawyer to represent your rights. Robert is here to assist you in this crisis. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, by phone at 480-860-4321 or email him for a free initial consultation.