Are You Looking for a Juvenile MVD Lawyer in Tempe?
If you live in Tempe, Arizona, and have a youngster who has been charged with a juvenile offense, you need to have a qualified juvenile MVD attorney assist with your case. Although you might believe that a crime unrelated to driving will not impact the driving privileges extended to your teen, that is not the case. The fact is that the Arizona State Legislature addressed this to help deter teens from committing a wide range of crimes in the state.
In addition to this, your child can be penalized by the MVD for various traffic offenses. This includes civil and well as criminal offenses. Upon the first, your child will have to attend Traffic Survival School. The second violation will earn your youngster three full months without driving privileges.
Additionally your child will be sanctioned by the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department for various traffic offenses. These offense include both civil and well as criminal offenses. With the first offense, your child, if under 18 years of age, will have to attend Traffic Survival School. The second offense will earn your youngster, if still under 18 years of age, a three full months without any driving privileges. (JOIN THE LAST 2 PARAGRAPHS TOGETHER) A third offense, if still under 18 years of age, will result in an additional six full months without any driving privileges.
The Arizona State Legislature decided to sanction juveniles for alcohol and drug offenses, whether or not driving was part of the offense. There are several suspension periods associated with the possession and use of alcohol and mind-altering substances. If your child is convicted of one of these, the penalties by the MVD are quite serious.
Simple minor in possession of alcohol offenses do not have to involve anything with a vehicle. With the first offense, the court can suspend the driver’s license for up to 180 days. Subsequent violations carry a maximum sanction of up to two years, or until the child reaches 18.
If your child has been caught drinking and driving, the suspension is two years, even if the blood alcohol levels do not indicate intoxication. A single glass of wine at holiday party could be enough to keep your kid from being able to get behind the wheel of a car for two full years!
If your child has been caught drinking and driving, the suspension is two years, no matter the blood alcohol level. That two years continues past the 18 birthday. A single glass of wine at holiday party could be enough to keep your kid from being able to get behind the wheel of a car again for a two full years! (JOIN THE LAST 2 PARAGRAPHS TOGETHER). And if the child get a misdemeanor DUI, MVD will imposed a two year suspension. A felony DUI will result is a three year suspension. There suspensions all last past the 18th birthday.
There are also numerous offenses that result in a driver license suspension that do not relate to either drinking, drugs or driving. The chart below illustrates the offenses and the length of suspension:
|Minor in Possession of Alcohol (1st Offense) – A.R.S. § 4-244(9)||Court ordered, up to 180 days|
|Minor in Possession of Alcohol (2nd or Subsequent Offenses) – A.R.S. § 4-244(9)||Court ordered, 2 years or until 18th Birthday|
|Minor Drinking & Driving – A.R.S. § 4-244(33)||2 years|
|DUI or Extreme DUI – A.R.S. § 28-1381||2 years|
|Aggravated DUI – A.R.S. § 28-1383||3 years|
|Criminal Damage/Defacing Property – A.R.S. §13-602(A)(1)||Until 18th Birthday|
|Aggravated Criminal Damage – A.R.S. §13-604(A)||Until 18th Birthday|
|Graffiti – A.R.S. §13-1602(A)(5)||Until 18th Birthday|
|Possession of any tools used for Graffiti||Until 18th Birthday|
|Theft – A.R.S. § 13-1802||Until 18th Birthday|
|Theft of Means of Transportation – A.R.S. § 13-1814||Until 18th Birthday|
|Unlawful Use of Means of Transportation – A.R.S. § 13-1803||Until 18th Birthday|
|Drug Offenses – Title 13, Chapter 34||Until 18th Birthday|
As you can see, there are a number of missteps that your child can take that will have a serious impact on their future if you don’t obtain legal counsel. Your child needs you to help with their juvenile defense. You don’t want to let this indiscretion ruin the future of your child with a juvenile record and the inability to drive and participate in normal social activities.
Contact our office today for a free initial consultation. We can help with your juvenile MVD defense needs. We are here to help you and your child navigate the complex legal system to minimize the impact this situation has on the long-term future and happiness of your family. Your child’s freedom and future are on the line. Experience counts. Robert is ready to fight to protect your child’s rights. Contact an experienced juvenile defense attorney immediately. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, directly by email or by calling 480-860-4321 now for that free initial consultation.