Why You Need an Attorney if You Are Charged with an Intimidation or Threat Crime in Tempe
Threatening or intimidating someone is a serious crime in the state of Arizona. This crime can include either verbal actions or physical actions. Unlike other crimes, this crime is highly subjective and depends a lot on the alleged victim’s perception of the event. Oftentimes an allegation of this offense is exaggerated or a complete falsehood. By statute, a crime occurs if the person threatens or intimidates another individual by conduct or words by:
* causing physical injury to an individual or by seriously damaging someone’s property; or
* causing a serious public inconvenience, including the evacuation of a building, transportation facility or place of assembly
A threatening or intimidating crime is typically a class 1 misdemeanor, which comes with a maximum six months of jail time, fines of up to $2,500 and 3 years probation for a first offense. If the threat is due to retaliation for reporting a crime, it is a class 6 felony and comes with a maximum 2 years of prison time, fines of up to $150,000 and 3 years probation for a first offense.
If someone threatens or intimidates another person by either word or conduct to cause physical injury or property damage of a person, so to promote a criminal street gang, then the crime is a class 3 felony. The penalty for this offense is a maximum 8.75 years of prison time, fines of up to $150,000 and 5 years of probation for a first offense.
If the victim and the defendant are in a domestic relationship, this type of crime is considered domestic violence. This type of offense are handled differently and the sentences can be more severe than non-domestic violence crimes. Arizona law require at least one of the following types of relationships in order for the crime to fall upon the domestic violence statue:
* Spouse and ex-spouses
* Couples who are dating
* Couples who have a child or pregnancy in common
* Siblings, parents and their children; grandparents and their grandchildren
If you would like more information on domestic violence offenses in Tempe, click the Domestic Violence tab located under Practice Areas.
Those who are convicted of a domestic violence offense will be required to undergo court-mandated counseling in addition to possible jail time, fines and probation. Counseling can take months to complete. In addition to this, the courts can restrict all communication with the victim. A conviction can cause you to lose your custody rights and restrict your visitation with a child in family court. Additionally, you will be prevented from owning a firearm and the conviction can effect your employment.
If you have been charged with threatening or intimidating crime, you need the help of an experienced attorney, who will fight for you. Much is at stake. Hire a lawyer who knows how to deal with such cases. Robert A. Dodell provides individual service while protecting your rights. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, directly by email or by calling 480-860-4321 now for a free initial consultation.